Watch a video of Meninak President Bill Cousins talking about our Club 

Meninak 2014 President Welcome Address from FileLogix on Vimeo.


SATURDAY - July 26, 2014

This will be the 81st year that Meninak has sponsored the American Red Cross Lifeguard Marathon Ocean Swim. The swim will be held on Saturday, July 26, at the Lifeguard Station at the end of Beach Boulevard. The competition is for lifeguards only who will swim 3.5 miles starting at the Ponte Vedra Inn and ending in front of the Lifeguard Station. Meninak furnishes the trophies, t-shirts and all the hot dogs and hamburgers you can eat!  Meninak Volunteers are needed to help set-up, tear-down, grill, hand out trophies, gatorade, and T-shirts.  Bring your family and friends for a fun day at the beach!

8:00 AM - Meninaks set-up
9:00 AM - Official Lifeguard/Meninak Group Photograph
10:00 AM - Official Swim Start - Ponte Vedra Inn
(Lifeguards swim 3.5 miles back to the station)
11:00 AM Meninaks congratulate swimmers at finish line
12:00 Noon - Refreshments

MEETING - Monday - July 28, 2014


Action News Meterologist
Hurricane Season
Mike is a self-professed weather"holic". His fascination with weather developed at a very young age while growing up in rural Iowa. His passion continues to this day: Mike eats, drinks, breathes and sleeps weather or as he likes to call it "All the Weather, All the Time"! He began his college education at Oklahoma University where, besides studying, he also storm chased and worked at the National Weather Service. Mike continued his education at Iowa State University where he graduated in 1987. Shortly after graduating Mike earned the American Meteorological Society's "Seal of Approval" and has also achieved his Certification for Broadcast Meteorologist which certifies that Mike meets specific educational and experience criteria and has passed rigorous testing in his knowledge and communication of meteorology and related sciences needed to be an effective broadcast meteorologist.  Buresh began his television meteorology career at WHO-TV in Des Moines, Iowa then moved on to WKRC-TV in Cincinnati, Ohio before coming to the First Coast. Mike was a member of the CBS47 News at 11 team which won the Edward R. Murrow award for "Best Newscast" in Florida and Georgia in 2006 and again in 2013 and is part of the Action News team that was awarded the 2012 Emmy Award for "Overall News Excellence". Since 2006, Mike and his First Alert Weather team have been rated as "Most Accurate" in the Jacksonville television market according to the independent service "WeatheRate". Mike is also an active member of the Jacksonville Salvation Army Advisory Board.

Click on any of the pictures below for more photos

StGerardSeptember 16, 2013 - Charity Project - $30,000 award to St. Gerard Campus
On September 16 at the meeting with U. S. Congressman Ander Crenshaw, the Meninak Club presented its 2013 Charity Grant award to St. Gerard Campus. The grant is awarded annually to a youth-serving nonprofit to apply towards a capital improvement. This year's $30,000 will provide funds for the construction of the Science Laboratory Classroom. L-R: Meninak President - Larry Cobb, St. Gerard Founder Caroline Wolff, Cong. Crenshaw, St. Gerard Grant Administrator Maria Gleason, and Meninak Charity Project Chair - Claude Moulton.

  IMG 7642July 27, 2013 - 80th Meninak Lifeguard Ocean Marathon Swim
Swimming in the ocean for 3.5 miles is daunting for most but for Jacksonville Beach lifeguards, its part of the fun. 45 members of the American Red Cross Volunteer Lifesaving Corps competed in the 80th Meninak Swim from Ponte Vedra Beach to Jacksonville Beach. The race is only open to lifeguards from the corps, including alumni. Eli Phillips came in first at 1:21:06, Cleve Cooney finished second at 1:22.59, and Eva Porter was third at 1:25:43. "The conditions this year were good ocean marathon conditions," said Clooney, who holds the record of 10 wins. 


May 19, 2014 - Meninak Awards $25,000 in Scholarships
Meninak awarded five $5,000 scholarships to high school seniors. The recipients must have participated in the Youth Leadership Jacksonville program and use the grants to attend an accredited college. Meninak has granted 90 scholarships totaling $450,000 since 1997. L-R: Malcolm McGee - University of Florida; Alexis Scardasis - University of Central Florida; Andri Kokoshi - Duke; Savannah Goodman - Duke; Alexis Brown - University of Florida (her mother Adrienne Brown accepted her award).



 photo 4October 1, 2012 - Team Meninak Wins Charity Golf Tournament
Captain Buzz Tyre proudly accepted the trophy when Team Meninak beat Rotary at the 47th Charity Golf Tournament with a score of 22.5 to 13.5. Brian Stokes won closest to the pin on #13 and Nick Napoleon won closest to the pin on #8. A special thank you to Team Meninak members: John Anderson and Pat Williams, Bunky Johnson and Ray Prevatt, Bill McCamy and Bill Monroe, Hugh Magevney, Kris Robinson and James Ollis, Brian Stokes and Bill Nipper, Kerry Varkonda and George Erickson, Gil Wright and Keith Kinssella, Buzz Tyre and Rick Collins, George Good and Peter Eyrick, Dr. Faris Monsour and Frank Pixler, Nick Napoleon and Jerry Woods, Larry Cobb and Tony Marinatos.

Since 1919, the Meninak Club of Jacksonville has carved a unique role for itself in our community. Attracting top business, professional, military and civic leaders to its ranks, Meninak has long been a catalyst for strengthening bonds among influential people and for helping shape the future of the Jacksonville community.
    We choose to dedicate ourselves to the betterment of Northeast Florida, lending help where none is available, especially when enhancing the lives of children. Join us

Calendar of Events

  • 26 Jul 2014
    08:00 am to 02:00 pm

  • 28 Jul 2014
    12:15 pm to 01:15 pm

  • 28 Jul 2014
    01:30 pm to 02:30 pm

  • 4 Aug 2014
    12:00 am to 11:59 pm

  • 11 Aug 2014
    12:15 pm to 01:15 pm

  • 11 Aug 2014
    01:30 pm to 02:30 pm

  • 18 Aug 2014
    12:15 pm to 01:15 pm

  • 18 Aug 2014
    01:30 pm to 02:30 pm

  • 25 Aug 2014
    12:15 pm to 01:15 pm

  • 29 Aug 2014
    06:00 pm to 08:00 pm

  • 1 Sep 2014
    12:00 am to 11:59 pm

  • 8 Sep 2014
    12:15 pm to 01:15 pm

26 Jul - 28 Jul
28 Jul - 4 Aug
11 Aug - 11 Aug
18 Aug - 18 Aug
25 Aug - 29 Aug
1 Sep - 8 Sep